The EDMblog – Top 10 dance tracks – June 2015


Want to hear some of the best records around at the moment? Here is a selection of current EDMblog favourites:

1.   Above & Beyond – Piece of Mind (Myon & Shane54 Summer of Love mix) (Anjunabeats)
2.   Chicane ft. Paul Aiden – Oxygen (DC Remix) (Modena Records)
3.   Myon & Shane54 – Wicked Game (Ride Recordings)
4.   Leona Lewis – Fire Under My Feet (Steve Pitron & Max Sanna remix) (Island Records)
5.   Eric Prydz – Generate (Kölsch remix) (Pryda Recordings)
6.   Pol Ayke – Legend of Vedra (Southside Recordings)
7.   Ken Loi & Marcio Lama – Lions (Showland Records)
8.   Francois Trovero & Axwanging – Spartan (White Label)
9.   Party Killers & Syskey – Flame (VOID Records)
10. Johnny Yono – Lucid Eyes (Perfecto Fluoro)

The remix of the Chicane track is outstanding.

Steve Pitron and Max Sanna have done a great job on the Leona Lewis track.

And the Johnny Yono record is included because it is quite simply one of the best trance tracks you are likely to hear.

If you want something a bit more banging check out the excellent Ken Loi & Marcio Lama, Francois Trovero and Axwanging and Party Kills & Syskey tracks.

Enjoy the music!

New track by Lifelike & Kris Menace

Ready 4 Love is the new single by Lifelike & Kris Menace.

It is the first time the French and German producers have teamed up since they released the track Discopolis 10 years ago.

Since then they have worked with artists including Daft Punk, Kylie Minogue, Depeche Mode, LCD Soundsystem and Moby.  The duo have also recently created a remix for the musical legend Giorgio Moroder which will appear on the new deluxe double album 74 Is The New 24.

Listen to the new track on Soundcloud:

Lifelike & Kris Menace – Ready 4 Love is due for release on Computer Science on 15 June 2015.

Xstatic in the Park

XITP poster

On Saturday 25 July 2015 a unique festival takes place in Singleton Park in Swansea.

It has been created by a team of dance music experts who have not only worked in the industry for many years but have been passionate fans.

They have taken great care when putting together the line up for the festival to ensure it reflects the tastes of the audience. Not only will there be big name international DJs but there will be local musical heroes with passionate followings.

Playing for 12 hours and featuring 7 different arenas the event will include something to please the vast array of dance music fans who flock from near and far to attend.

The line up on the Warehouse presents XITP outdoor stage will feature Eddie Halliwell, Marcus Schossow, Nicky G and local legends Big Al & Danny Slade.

The Toolroom arena will include Mark Knight, My Digital Enemy and Prock & Fitch.

Alex M.O.R.P.H, Andy Moor, Gavyn Mytchell and Lange will play the Trancecoda & Delusion arena.

For those who like it hard Tidy Boys, Lab 4 Live, Lisa Pinup and Rob Tissera will be in the Dirtbox.

Other artists appearing at the festival include Gio, Taz, Futura, Wideboys, Ed Kurno and Jordan Stiens.

Tickets for the event are already on sale and going fast. The price starts at just £24.99 which is ridiculously fair considering the line up.

More information including full details of the day can be found at:

The atmosphere at past events in Singleton Park has been amazing and these people know how to put on a party. Xstatic in the Park 2015 will definitely be one to remember.

New Pacha Ibiza album

Album artwork

Pacha Ibiza: the house collection 2000-2009 is a new compilation album celebrating a golden era in dance music.

The album features 60 of the noughties’ biggest tracks including 8 UK number 1s and 20 top ten singles.

There is music from artists such as The Shapeshifters, Madison Avenue, Fedde Le Grand, David Guetta and Groove Armada.

There are also tracks by Axwell, Cassius, Space Cowboy and Freemasons.

If you want to relive some classic nights on the dance floor the album is released on 1 June 2015.

Creamfields in Ibiza

On Saturday 1 August 2015, the globally recognised festival Creamfields will be staged for the first time in Ibiza.

Headlining the event will be The Prodigy with over 25 other artists including Above & Beyond, Afrojack, Pete Tong and Steve Angello appearing alongside.

Tickets for the festival, which takes place at the Ushuaï Complex in Play D’en Bossa, are available now via:

Time for a dance music revival

There is an interesting article on the Mixmag website about the 100 highest earning nightclubs in America.

Mixmag have taken the figures from a feature in Forbes magazine claiming that the top 10 clubs in the US have a combined income of at least $550m.

Much like Europe, America has suffered from the downturn in the global economy since 2008 but dance music fans are clearly still going clubbing.

The same cannot be said of the UK where numerous big name nightclubs have suffered from a lack of attendance and many have closed.

Could this have anything to do with the lack of dance music on national radio and the sidelining of shows supporting the genre?

It is interesting to note that one of the most well-respected names in dance music who hosted one of the most famous programmes on national radio in the UK – Pete Tong – is now mostly based in the US.

The current crop of radio presenters don’t appear to support dance music or seem particularly interested in encouraging people to go to nightclubs and dance.

And in radio playlist meetings no one dare mention EDM such is the snobbish attitude to the genre.

There also appears to have been a lack of creativity in night clubbing which might have contributed to the decline.  The venues in America host DJs who put on a real show, performers who entertain the crowd on the dance floor and pyrotechnics which make the event more akin to a theatrical performance than some of the bland nights audiences have experienced in the UK.

It is time for something new.

TheEDMblog is calling for a revival of dance music, an increase in the number of radio shows and presenters promoting the genre and the return of exciting creative night clubbing in the UK.